Today’s world is fast moving, connected, and highly-contested. In the face of cyberspace warfare by the most capable adversaries, the Department of Defense must ensure dependable mission execution. To offensively and defensively defend our network, our information systems, and our data in order to protect a wide range of critical services, we must have a knowledgeable and skilled DoD Cyberspace Workforce that can adapt to the dynamic cyber environment and adjust resources to meet mission requirements.

One national initiative to address this is the Federal Cybersecurity Workforce Assessment Act (FCWAA’15). Applicable to Federal Civilians and Military, including Intelligence Community, FCWAA ’15 calls for the identification and coding of Federal positions with cyberspace roles that includes IT, Cybersecurity, and “Other Cyber Related” workforces. As part of the effort to implement the FCWAA ’15, the DoD is transforming its cyberspace workforce focus from solely information assurance to a more inclusive focus comprised of personnel who build, secure, operate, defend, and protect DoD and U.S. cyberspace resources, conduct related intelligence activities, enable future operations, and project power in or through cyberspace. Additionally, there are specific jobs within acquisition, training and education, legal/law enforcement and leadership that are now considered part of the DoD Cyber Workforce Framework (DCWF).

The seven Cyberspace Workforce Elements are:

    • Cyberspace IT Workforce
    • Cybersecurity Workforce
    • Cyberspace Effects Workforce
    • Intelligence Workforce (Cyberspace)
    • Cyberspace Enablers
    • Software Engineering
    • Data/Artificial Intelligence (AI)

    A qualified DoD cyberspace workforce will be better prepared to defeat highly sophisticated cyberspace adversaries and attract, recruit, and retain the best and brightest individuals by providing opportunities for growth in an environment of unique missions.